Blueberry Banana Nut Muffins

and it’s vegan, too!

For the first recipe I post, I decided to “veganize” a standard muffin recipe that I found on the Whole Foods website.  Original recipe is as follows – with the alternative ingredients I used in brackets beside the non-vegan items.  I just pulled out a batch from the oven an hour ago, and my roommates and I have already gobbled up most of them!

2/3 c cornmeal

2/3 c all-purpose flour (I used rice flour to make it gluten-free, and you can use whole wheat, or spelt flour too)

1/2 c hemp seeds

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 eggs (I used one ripe, mushed up banana)

1/2 c low-fat milk (I used hemp milk, but soy or almond milk would do too. Alternatively, you could try apple sauce in it’s place too)

1/3 c honey (I sometimes eat honey as a vegan, but only if it’s the only alternative to processed sugar, say, when I buy a latte.  Here, I substituted molasses to add an extra bit of iron to the muffins)

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp melted butter (I used soy-free Earth Balance vegan butter)

1/2 c fresh or frozen blueberries (I tossed in a few more than they called for because I love blueberries!)

Once I put them in the muffin pan, I sprinkled shredded coconut, sesame seeds, and pumpkin seeds on the muffin top for added protein and iron. YUM.

Directions: mix together the dry, then in a separate bowl, mix together the wet. Add them together, don’t over mix. Heat oven to 425 F and bake for 12-14 minutes.

One thought on “Blueberry Banana Nut Muffins

  1. Pingback: hearty and healthy banana chocolate chip muffins « gemsinmyhands

Leave a Reply

