it’s what’s inside that counts

I’m feeling a bit under the weather today and so I whipped up this homemade roasted kabocha squash and kale soup with whole grain toast to make me feel better.

I roasted kabocha squash the other night (have you ever tried it? It’s creamy deliciousness!). I had left overs, so I’ve pureed it, added an entire bulb of fresh roasted garlic, garam marsala, coconut milk, and fresh kale, topped with scallions.

Why is this a great meal? Well, I researched what would give me lots of vitamins C, and what veggies would support immune function, which I’m pretty sure also includes cleaning the liver.  Kabocha squash and Kale are both excellent source of vitamins A, C, and beta-carotene, all which help boost your immune system. Garlic is a a lovely superfood that has been used for it’s antibacterial and healing qualities for centuries and will help your body flush out those toxins!

Leave a Reply

