my breakfast basics

When I think about writing a post, I often want to try and impress you with something complex and unique to get the wow factor. Today, I was thinking about the past month, and how busy it’s been, and that I’ve had barely any time to cook, and realized sometimes the best things in life are simple. So instead of writing about a yummy dish I created, I thought I’d write about those recipes that are easy, nutritious and sustain me when the countdown is on for me to get out the door! This edition will be all about breakfast.

Oatmeal 

Oatmeal is fantastic for a hearty, keep-you-full-for-three-hours breakfast.  I’m not sure how prevalent the impression is that oatmeal is mushy and tasteless, but because I’ve heard it before, I want to debunk it now – try this recipe and tell me you don’t want to make it again and again!

Banana nut oatmeal (Individual serving size)

1/3 cup oats (any variety you like)

2/3 cup soya milk (or any milk you choose, or water, but the milk will give it a creamier consistency)

1 banana, chopped (apple works well too!)

1 tsp cinnamon

a handful of raisins

optional: 1 tsp chia seeds

Add those first ingredients together in a pot, and put on low heat, stirring frequently.  When it looks like it’s almost done, stir in 1 tbsp of peanut butter.

Toppings (all of them, or any combination of!):

– 1/3 cup walnuts, chopped (or, if you want to make it healthier – pumpkin seeds, or almonds)

– 1-2 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut

–  1 tsp flax

I don’t add any sugar – I find that with the banana and peanut butter, that it’s plenty sweet enough. If you have to add something, I’d recommend honey or pure maple syrup (whole food sugars). This breakfast will keep me full for a good 3 hours, so it’s perfect for those busy days when I know I won’t be able to snack!

Smoothies  

I was looking at vegan ice cream recipes recently, and they strongly resemble my smoothies – except I add a bit more liquid and don’t freeze it after… haha. I may or may not be saying that I eat “ice cream” for breakfast.  You be the judge. One thing is for certain – it’s delicious!

The base of my smoothies is almost always banana blueberry, just because I love the taste. The second recipe, I strayed from this a bit (and was glad I did!).  I also like to something throw a kiwi in there, strawberries, an orange, or watermelon, in some combination or another.  If you want to get really crazy and want to do a lot of dishes, juice some fresh orange juice, and use that as part of the liquid base. YUM.

Banana blueberry smoothie: 

1 banana

1 cup blueberries

1 cup soya milk

3 tbsp (approx.) of raw cacao powder (aka chocolate)

1 handful of spinach (don’t worry – you won’t taste it)

Banana Pear smoothie

1 banana

1 pear

1 can coconut water

a bit of soya milk

a few dashes of cinnamon

3-4 dates

Fresh Juice 

I got a juicer a while back, used it a bit, and then it collected dust. I was deterred by all the parts that I had to clean after making only one glass of juice (because juice is best when you drink it right away, and therefore you’re not supposed to store it if you want the benefits of all the minerals and vitamins).  A good friend of mine asked to borrow it, and I agreed, and she started to tell me all the yummy juices she was making. I *needed* it back. Since then, I’m juicing probably 4 times/week.

One of my go-to combinations is carrot/apple/ginger, sometimes with a beet thrown in there. I usually have it right in the morning when I wake up. If I drink enough carrot juice in a week, I can actually tell in my skin – I get a nice hue from it. I’ve actually noticed that people tell me I look like I’m radiant/glowing/healthy when I’m on the carrot juice kick!

Cucumber, apple, mint, ginger juice

I tried a new combination this weekend (photo), and it was so tasty! The coolness of the cucumber, the sweetness of the apple, the freshness of the mint, and the zing of the ginger made it to die for.

It’s surprising the veggies and fruits that we can juice, and the combinations in some of those recipe books. Really, it suits all types – you want something fruity, do an orange, strawberry drink.  If you want to be a bit more adventurous, try juicing some greens with an apple, and really get a health hit for your morning wake up.

The downside of juicing is that it takes a lot of the fibre out, and there is a lot of waste.  Be creative and use the left over fibre in a stew, or amp up your smoothie with it.

Toast with avocado or peanut butter

I”m not a huge bread person, but I do *love* the Naam’s fresh baked bread. It’s hearty, healthy and nicely spiced (odd to use that descriptor for a bread, but it’s true – fennel is one spice that they use).  I’m pretty sure any topping would taste good on it, but two of my go-to’s are avocado (with a lil rock salt n’ pepper) or natural peanut butter.  A note on peanut butter for those of you addicted to Skippy – have you seen the sugar content? It’s the second ingredient! Why do we need all that extra sugar?! When I’m in some small town for work and my only option is those small packets at those restaurant whose servers looks at you funny when you ask for soy before saying no, then I will eat it, but there is a huge difference in quality and nutritional content. Yes, it’s a bit more expensive to get the natural stuff, but might as well eliminate that fat from all the extra oils and sugar in there so you can use those calories on an extra scoop of PB!

Those are my breakfast selections that I rotate through weekly. Hope you enjoy them, and let me know any creative juice or smoothie ideas that you try!

xo

Kristin

Leave a Reply

