a jazzed up Waldorf salad

I’m back! I can’t believe March has passed so quickly! My life this month was consumed with work travel, personal travel and moving into my new place, and haven’t had a chance to post as many recipes *ahem* any *ahem* as I’d like. The good news is that I’m ready to set my roots in and relax in my new place and test out my new kitchen!

This weekend was unnaturally sunny and hot for the end of March, and it was perfect for sitting outside on my new deck and fantasizing about the coming summer months. When it’s hot out, I never feel like eating something heavy, and I want lots of fresh veg from local markets. Because of all my travel I’ve been lacking greens in my diet, so salad became my menu item of choice. I decided to make my own vegan version of the Waldorf salad.What I like about this salad is that it has a creamy dressing, because sometimes I’m just not in the mood for a balsamic based topping – it feels too thin.  If I may say so myself, it was very delicious!

For a single salad, here are the ingredients I used:

veganized Waldorf Salad

veganized Waldorf Salad

– 2-3 stalks of kale, washed with stems removed and ripped into bite size pieces

–  1/2 c shredded red cabbage

– 2 tbsp raisins (instead of grapes – you could use grapes, if you wanted)

– 1/2 of an apple, chopped

– 2 tbsp sunflower seeds

– 1/4 c walnuts (roasted, if you prefer)

– 1/4 c finely chopped red pepper and cucumber

Instead of the mayonnaise dressing, I used my Tahini sauce recipe with extra lemon. I like my sauces thicker, but if you prefer something a bit more “dressing like” then just add a bit more water or vegetable broth to thin out the texture.

Enjoy!

xo Kristin

Leave a Reply

