fibre-licious carrot coconut muffins

I think you may have noticed that I love smoothies and muffins… because all I have been posting lately are smoothie and muffin recipes! This recipe concoction was a successful experiment from my desire to do something with all that juice pulp that is created from juicing. I love juicing, but I don’t like throwing all the extra food out, nor do I like missing out on all the fibre. I’ve thought about throwing it all in my vitamix to make it smooth and juice like, but I believe that is called ‘soup’, not juice. It’s just not the same.

I really like my first version of this recipe, so I used the quantities as the basis for trying out this new recipe. Instead of using just mashed bananas as the binder, I substituted the carrot ginger pulp. The mixture was drier than I got from using the bananas, but luckily I hadn’t drank all the juice yet, and I added a couple splashes to make sure it all mixed together well.  The result: delicious! It tastes a bit like carrot cake, the the texture was hearty from the pulp, but still moist. These muffins are super healthy (according to this research on carrot pulp benefits, loaded with fibre, iron, calcium, protein, and omegas), and totally satisfy my mid-morning snack craving. They also have a great orange colour!

enjoying my carrot muffin break!

enjoying my carrot muffin break!

Here is the recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cups spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour (I substitute flours based on what I have)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 1 cup carrot ginger pulp*
  • 1 medium banana, mushed
  • 2-3 tbsp fresh carrot ginger juice (add this in at the end if you need more moisture in the batter)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (or your favorite baking oil)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chia seeds
  • a scant 1/4 cup non-sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup walnuts (or other favourite nut – pumpkin seeds, pecans, almonds)

*I juiced 6 medium sized carrots with approximately 1 inch of ginger to get this quantity

  1. Preheat your oven to 375ºF and grease or line muffin cups (unless you are using silicone muffin cups like I did, they work best ungreased). This recipe can make 9 small muffins.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together the flours, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, flax, and salt.
  3. In a mixing bowl, blend the carrot ginger pulp, banana, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla until relatively smooth with just some small banana lumps remaining.
  4. Fold the flour mixture into the wet ingredients, stirring until just combined.
  5. Stir in the chia seeds, coconut and nuts. If you need extra moisture, add a bit of the carrot juice until you get all the flour mixed in.
  6. Divide the batter between the muffin cups, and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until slightly browned on top and a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Enjoy!

xo

Kristin

Leave a Reply

