green smoothies

I’ve been to a few Vitamix demonstration tables at various food events around Vancouver and have seen them make green smoothies/sorbets that have been DELICIOUS, and my new project this month was to try and figure out that tricky mix of how many vegetables I can make a smoothie with while still making a good smoothie. There are a few basic recipes on the Vitamix website (and other websites), but in the demos they added a tomato, and other random vegetables, and I couldn’t find those. After a bit of experimentation, I have the basic proportions down from which we will build our green smoothie:

1 cup greens (kale, spinach)

1 cup fruit

1/2 cup water

8 ice cubes

This base is the right combination of sweetness for me. Anything else I add has to compliment the base, or be in a small enough quantity to not make a difference (i.e. add a stalk of parsley). Here are a few sample recipes:

The Spicy Banana

1 cup kale

1 frozen banana

1 in fresh ginger

1 tbsp fresh mint leaves

1/2 avocado

1 tsp maca

The Great Green smoothie The Great Green

1 cup kale

2 small kiwis (approx 3/4 cup)

1/4 cup green grapes

2 in cucumber

1 in ginger

1 tsp spirulina

1 tsp yellow maca

2 tsp flax

juice of one lime

RefreshRefresh

1/2 cup kale

1/2 cup spinach

1/2 orange

1/2 pear

2 in cucumber

1 in ginger

2 handfuls of green grapes

1 tsp yellow maca

1 tsp spirulina

1 tsp flax

I have a tendency to want to infuse my smoothies with as much goodness as I can without affecting the taste, which is why you see maca, flax and other superfood adds to my smoothies (I also do this with my fruit smoothies). I also regularly add my powdered iron or B vitamins, but if you don’t have them, then don’t worry. If it’s not sweet enough for you, I find that adding about 4 medjhool dates is a really good way to add a bit of sweetness and it adds some good fibre.

I did mention above that there are other random vegetables that I’ve seen them put in there. I feel confident that I could add half a tomato to any of those recipes above, and not have it affect the taste. I will do it tomorrow morning and let you know 😉

why I will continue to drink green smoothies:

I think the best part of starting my day off with a green smoothie is how wonderful it makes me feel! I’ve noticed some weight loss in my stomach, which is probably because I’m eating less sugar (there is less sugar in these than my fruit smoothies). They’re also just that much more healthy – think about all that nutritious kale being gobbled up so easily! I go through a bunch of kale in two days – that usually doesn’t happen otherwise! It’s cleansing with the ginger and other minerals and fibre. I notice not having soy in the morning – if you really like the creaminess, add half an avocado and you will have the same result. I highly recommend trying this out as your morning routine.

my messSo funny story to end this post off. The other morning I made my green smoothie, and I added a few more ice cubes or didn’t add enough water, and it got really thick. I’ve also seen in those demo videos that you can hold it upside down, and it will stay (can you see where this is going?). First I turned it upside down with the lid on to test it, and when it worked, I decided I needed photographic evidence to brag about on instagram. I got that picture, but it was a bit crooked, and I took the second picture and BAM. It fell out and splattered all over the counter, walls, floor, and me – it even reached the fridge across the floor. I’m still finding green spots. It was such a mess! I had a good laugh at myself and scooped enough off the counter (it was clean enough) to have a glass, and learned my lesson.

enjoying my smoothie at work!

Enjoy!

xo

Kristin

Leave a Reply

